Saturday, July 18, 2009

Here Come the "People's Primaries"

In the past few weeks, there were some buzz goin' 'round Philippine advocacy circles that a group of people are gathering to create what they call the "People's Primaries". As we know in the US, the Democratic and Republican parties select their Presidential candidates via Primaries wherein different candidates of their own parties are voted upon by party members. The local version, although not by a political party, plans to do just that: give the people a chance to select the "People's" Presidential candidate for 2010. Apparently, they will choose only among Non-Trapo candidates. Among the names floated around for consideration are Gov. Eddie Panlilio, Gov. Grace Padaca and Environmentalist Nicanor Perlas.

Tomorrow, at Sentro ng Katotohanan, we will talk with one of the proponents of the movement, Mr. Ricky Xavier (of the Movement for Good Governance, one of the groups helping to steamroll the initiative). We will ask him more details about the People's Primaries, how they plan to do it, the method they will use on the selection of the People's candidate, and how they will encourage the participation of the people and the Presidential candidates themselves. We will also ask him how they will choose the candidates and how they define the word Trapo.

To help us better in our search for the definition of a Trapo, Sentro ng Katotohanan will again interview Mr. Tony Abaya, who coined the term way back in 1989. For all we know, the word Trapo itself could make or break a Presidential candidate and therefore could very well affect our country's future.

Sentro ng Katotohanan is more and more becoming the central conversation point on the essential issues for the coming elections in 2010. People who are immersed in their love, and doing what they think is best, for country are finding themselves tuned in to Sentro ng Katotohanan, Sundays 6-7PM DZXL 558KHz in Metro Manila. Sentro ng Katotohanan is jointly produced by Lead Philippines and, in cooperation with Radio Mindanao Network (RMN).

No comments: